A.C. Rutherford Collection

Alexander Cameron Rutherford (1857–1941) was Alberta’s first Premier from 1905 to 1910. During this time he introduced legislation for the creation of a provincial university (i.e., the University of Alberta), and he also held the positions of Treasurer and Minister of Education. Rutherford was a discriminating collector of Canadiana, and, in 1950, his collection of approximately 1,000 volumes was acquired by the University of Alberta following negotiations with Rutherford's children, Hazel Rutherford McCuaig and Cecil Rutherford. The university’s main library for the humanities and social sciences, Rutherford Library, is named after the Premier in recognition of his legacy. The historic A.C. Rutherford Collection includes many first editions, pamphlets, travel books, and ephemeral items relating to the history of Canada, many focusing on the Canadian Prairies. The collection contains fine examples of Canadian literature, immigrant narratives, and accounts of early voyages undertaken to search for the Northwest Passage by such explorers as Sir John Franklin, Sir William Edward Parry, and Sir John Ross. Many of the items in the collection can be identified by Rutherford’s signature or one of his personal bookplates. The Rutherford Collection is not only a rich source of information about the history of Canada, but is also an important part of the history of the University of Alberta and the founding of the University of Alberta Libraries.

Collection Formats: 19th Century, 20th Century, Books, Ephemera, Limited Edition Books -- click to see other collections with this format